Just Some Mandy Moore Songs

Mandy Moore seems to be everywhere again these days, mainly due to the buzz of the US drama This Is Us where she just got nominated for a Golden Globe – and blame that buzz for the idea of writing about her. Back in grade school, the buzz around her was as big as Britney Spears – or maybe in my neck of the woods. She was one of the first Hollywood endorsers of Penshoppe, and A Walk To Remember was so popular back then (I haven’t watched it though!), but I appreciate her more as a singer, and as a fan of her music back then and in more recent times, I decided to list five of her original songs or renditions of other songs that I truly love until now.

 

I Wanna Be With You

Candy might be her breakout hit, but this was the oldest song from her I loved first. Those breathy vocals really did it for me.

Favorite lyrics:

Oh, baby
I can’t fight this feeling anymore
Drives me crazy when I try to
So call my name and take my hand
Can you make my wish, baby, your command?

 

Cry

Her stint in A Walk To Remember made her music more well-known here, and this one was almost everywhere during that time. Can’t blame people (myself included) for liking this – she nailed everything from the vocals to the “explosive” music video.

Favorite lyrics:

In places no one will find
All your feelings so deep inside (deep inside)
It was there that I realized
That forever was in your eyes
The moment I saw you cry

 

Someday We’ll Know

Originally by New Radicals (which I also love but only discovered later), this duet was also popular during the A Walk To Remember Era (add to that the emotional and equally great Only Hope.) The vocals and chemistry between her and Jonathan Foreman were okay, though the unique lyrics stepped it up notches higher.

Favorite lyrics:

Someday we’ll know
Why Samson loved Delilah
One day I’ll go
Dancing on the moon
Someday you’ll know
That I was the one for you


Can We Still Be Friends

Coverage contained some of my favorite covers, and this Todd Rundgren original  to me is one that worked for me (also check out Have A Little Faith In Me and Moonshadow).

Favorite lyrics:

We awoke from our dream
Things are not always what they seem
Memories linger on
It’s like a sweet, sad, old song

 

Extraordinary 

Serving folksy goodness, one line at a time. Lyrics are very endearing, motivating us to be our very best. Shame that no proper copy of its music video is available on YouTube, I loved it too. Let me know if you found one!

Favorite lyrics:

I was a daydream
Quiet and unseen
I lived in stories
But inside I kept a mystery

 

I See The Light

Well,  we can’t leave out the Disney tune out here: her voice definitely shone in this duet with Zachary Levi, and made us all hopeful not only about Rapunzel’s future, but about ours as well. (Just to be clear: she was Rapunzel in Tangled!) 

Favorite lyrics:

Now I’m here blinking in the starlight
Now I’m here suddenly I see
Standing here it’s all so clear
I’m where I’m meant to be



So there! It’s so much fun reminiscing the times when Mandy Moore was a huge part of our playlist. Hope she releases some new music! 

Also,  let me know which Mandy Moore song is your favorite, or which artist/s you would like to see or be featured here. 🙂

***All lyrics from metrolyrics.com

Leave a Reply

